Wakarusa Historical Museum

Survey Questions Survey Answers

The Wakarusa Historical Society, Inc. was organized on September 9, 1975 by Larry Smith, Floyd Drake, Robert Ehret, Helen Klein, and Jack Hess, with the goal to obtain and restore the old Wakarusa depot that was built in 1892 and used at that time for passenger service and freight.

The first train through Wakarusa was in 1873 with passenger service ending around 1930. Norfolk and Western Railroad purchased the Wabash Railroad in 1964 and the depot was closed May 15, 1975.
On September 10, 1976 Norfolk and Western Railroad donated the depot and to the Society.

December 1, 1976 Allied Mills owned the coal yard directly across the street from the depot and donated the land for the new location of the depot. Many hours of labor and money were donated to place the buildings here.

Wakarusa Chamber of Comerce

Maple Sugar Festival

Wakrusa Teacher Input







ECMA
302 East Beardsley
Elkhart, IN. 46514

Phone: 574-264-0330
ext. 102

Contact Us